Knockoff-Franken-Party-Dresses

It’s a familiar refrain (for me, anyway): where did this week/month/year go? I can’t believe this year is basically over. I may manage to put together some kind of year in review by, like, February, but for now I thought I’d squeeze in a couple dresses that I made way back in March of this (nearly over) year. It seems like a party dress kind of day, after all.

dvf wrap knockoffEver since I went to the DVF exhibit I’ve been wanting to knock off this black and white wrap dress. I knew this cool dimensional knit would be perfect for the skirt, and I had the black ITY in my stash for the top. I mashed up two different wrap dress patterns to get the design I wanted: the bodice is Butterick 5454 and the skirt is Vogue 8379. I actually think this combo makes my ideal wrap dress – I prefer shoulder pleats to waist pleats in a bodice, and I like the half-circle wrap skirt much better than the straight pleated wrap, which never sits right on me. I can imagine I’ll use this mashup again.

boden jacquard knockoffMy second winter dress knockoff was inspired by this Boden jacquard knit dress. I found a very similar jacquard poly knit at fabric.com (of course it’s not there now) and went pattern hunting. I wound up combining the bodice of McCall’s 5927 with my trusty Tiramisu half-circle skirt. The bodice as drafted has a high neckline and I wanted more of a scoop, so I freehand lowered the neckline by a couple inches. I just turned and coverstitched the neckline. It was a super quick dress to put together but it looks pretty fancy – I love when a cool fabric does all the work!

dvf wrap knockoff 2boden jacquard knockoff 2

I’ve worn both of these dresses quite a bit this year, turns out having dressy-ish black dresses in your closet can come in handy for those last minute events you didn’t have time to make something new for. Like, for instance, when the end of the year totally sneaks up on you.

Happy New Year!

 

PS I’ve finally (thanks to a tech upgrade Christmas gift) joined Instagram! If you’d like to follow me you can find me as aleah_42.

4 comments
  1. Nafisa said:

    Your dresses are so fantastic and beautiful! Thank you.

  2. lisa g said:

    Both dresses are great! I love the black/white color scheme–so classic. Happy 2016!

  3. Great dresses! It’s always so nice when a pattern mashup works the way you want it to, that wrap dress looks great.

  4. annina-g said:

    There lovely and certainly too good to get a franken prefix 🙂

Leave a Reply

