Beignet skirt: sneaking in some selfish sewing

I’ve taken a break from gift making to finish off some of my fall sewing… yes, I know, it is manifestly not fall anymore. That didn’t stop me from making an orange skirt and wearing it to the company holiday party today!

It is, of course, Colette’s Beignet skirt, beloved by fashionable sewing bloggers everywhere. I gave into the peer pressure (in the form of me encountering so many lovely button-laden skirts all over the internets) and ordered the pattern a few months ago, and I cut out the fabric before Thanksgiving (!) and it sat folded for a couple weeks while I entered Christmas-crafting panic, but once I finally sat down at the machine it went together pretty quickly. It’s got a lot of pieces, but it’s not difficult at all. I did not line it, though, so that made it easier for sure. Bizarrely, the easiest part of making this skirt was the buttonholes, thanks to my totally awesome new machine with its make-one-buttonhole-and-all-that-follow-will-be-the-same-length automatic buttonhole feature! I never thought I’d be the kind of person who’d admire buttonholes, but… just look at them! They’re so perfect and pretty!

Even the backs are nice (well, except for the third from the bottom, I don’t think I cleared the bobbin thread tail out of the way and it got caught up. Oh well). You can also see my facing here (I kind of love  the orange on the black and white, it makes me want to make something with contrast buttonholes!) The main fabric is a heavyweight twill from Jo Ann, and the facing and pockets are scraps of a cotton poplin leftover from a dress I made last year. I also lucked into some cheap plastic buttons in just the right color – I like that there is contrast provided by the texture but the color is monochromatic. If the buttonholes were super easy, though, the 12 buttons took forever to sew on. I confess that I’m a hand sewing hater, and repetitive hand sewing tasks are the worst! But I did get them all on eventually and they totally make the skirt, obviously.

Ultimately I like this skirt, though maybe not as much as some of the others who’ve made it. I must say that what continues to amaze me about sewing is that I would probably never have bought a high-waisted button up skirt in a store, but making it myself allows me to experiment with the style and make it my own (by which I mean, make it orange). Somehow the fact that I’ve made a garment gives me ownership and the courage to try out a style I might not be comfortable buying, if that makes sense. I think that may be why I get more compliments on my self-made items than things I’ve purchased – not because they look better, but because they tend to be bigger style statements for me. I will say that this skirt was a hit at the party, which of course makes me like it more than I did last night in my living room. I do need a narrow brown belt, though. I photographed it with my white belt, but I didn’t wear the belt today because I knew I would be mercilessly mocked by my no-white-accessories-after-Labor-Day colleague. I know the rule’s outdated, but she won’t listen to reason, so I chickened out although I prefer it with a belt. But anyway, here’s one more picture because, well, pockets! You know how I feel about those!

My full review of the pattern is here.

6 comments
  1. Ashlee said:

    LOVE this! Every time I see the Beignet, I love it well. The contrast fabric you used on the button placket is great! I asked for this pattern for Christmas… and if I don’t get it, I’m DEFINITELY treating myself to it. Great work! 🙂

  2. Ashlee said:

    *love it more, not well. Oops!

  3. Amy said:

    I just got this pattern as well. I couldn’t help myself after seeing it on so many sewing bloggers. Your version photographs beautifully. I like it with a belt, white or not!

  4. Nikki said:

    Love the colour! The skirt looks fab in this colour and the white belt is great!

  5. Katherine said:

    OMG I love this so much you have to wear it the next time you visit, mmkay? Also, gonna get me this pattern!
    xo
    KB

Leave a Reply

