OFO: Simplicity 2587 (newly minted birthday dress)

So as I slooowly plug away at my sewing pile (I’ve gotten embarrassingly little done in the last week, I’ve just been too tired when I get home from work), I thought I’d share some things I made before I started the blog, and that I didn’t wear/photograph during my Self-Stitched-September coverage. Hence the OFO series – Old Finished Object. I made this dress, Simplicity 2587, in August, with the intention of wearing it to a friend’s birthday celebration.  I didn’t get it done in time for that, but I did bring it to Hawaii and wore it out to dinner (twice!) but somehow managed not to post about it then. When I didn’t get anywhere close to finishing a dress for my own birthday dinner a couple nights ago, I wore this dress, which shall heretofore be known as the Birthday Dress.

I did not take this picture on my birthday, but trust that I looked basically just like this but with jewelry. (Though I love how this picture makes it look like I have a flower in my hair – I don’t, it’s on the vine behind me.) My full pattern review is here, and I had sort of forgotten until I re-read it that I was pretty sure this dress was going to be a (very expensive) wadder.  I went without muslining, as is my wont, and it wasn’t clear at all until I was totally finished and zipped it up that it wasn’t an ill-fitting gapey nightmare bodice.  But it totally worked, and I kind of love it.  The fabric is glorious (though the print is terribly off grain) and the bodice is surprisingly flattering for the extremely-small-busted like myself. This is also the first time I used strap adjusters (detail picture here), so I wouldn’t have to figure out the perfect strap length before sewing the bodice using the stab-yourself-with-pins-and-it-still-turns-out-too-long method I had used previously on spaghetti strap dresses, and I’m doing this from now on. It is fantastic to be able to get the right length strap after the dress is completely done, and I’m kicking myself for not doing the adjuster thing before. I’m also glad I dipped a toe in the maxi dress trend before the season was totally over.  Hopefully it’ll still be around next year, since they’re kind of fun, even though they use an ungodly amount of fabric.

The dress I briefly fantasized about trying to finish for my birthday is the Lonsdale Dress, which I cut out eons ago and figured I really should finish it rather than moving the cut-out pieces all around my sewing stack until next summer.  I was waylaid by a lost tiny pattern piece, which Tasia most awesomely emailed me a pdf of when I left a pleading comment on her blog. Talk about service! So the dress is back on, hopefully I can get it done soon and then finally get some seasonally appropriate sewing done before spring…

And I may have paid another visit to my Crazy Fabric Store and bought 10 more yards of fabric… more on that soon!

5 comments
  1. Amy said:

    Fabulous dress!

  2. Nikki said:

    Love the fabric, what a lovely colour!

  3. carolyn said:

    This dress is absolutely gorgeous! Seriously…gorgeous!

    • aleah said:

      Thanks! I sought out this fabric after I saw your fabulous shirt made from it 🙂

Leave a Reply

