Around and about on SSS day 11

Here’s what I wore today, day 11 of Self-Stitched-September – and hey look, I’m not on my deck or in my house!

My mom is visiting, so I’ll be doing a bit of local sightseeing in the next couple days.  Today we stopped by Solvang briefly to go to the Crazy Fabric Store (I grabbed some pictures as well as a few cuts of fabric, post forthcoming), and we ate lunch then grabbed some ice cream – I am holding our half mango sorbet, half pistachio gelato.

The skirt is my self-stitched item, Butterick 5466.  This was one of my first patterns, and I made three skirts from it last winter.  I like the pattern a lot, but I would say its limiting factor is no pockets. I think it’s time for me to move on to a pencil skirt pattern with a pocket option (my first candidate is Simplicity 2343, once I give in to fall sewing). This version of the Butterick is view B (darts and waistband) in a strange ribbed stretch denim from the bolt-end bin at my local fabric store (not the one we visited today).  It is, I have to say, the most comfortable pencil skirt ever because the fabric is so stretchy! When I first made this skirt I wasn’t thrilled with it, but then I realised how much better it looked with shirts tucked in rather than out (as was my tendency), because what really works on this pattern is the shaping and close fit at the waist.  I got tons of compliments on it at work today! (And I don’t know why it wants to crease so bad at the hemline… even ironing – if, for instance, I did that -doesn’t help.)

After work, mom and I had dinner at the most marvelous pizza restaurant – Full of Life Flatbread. It’s just off the 101 in Los Alamos (aka, “what? there’s a town here?”), and by day it is a factory for all-natural frozen pizzas. On weekend evenings they open as a restaurant, and it’s wonderful. I can’t believe I’ve lived in this area for 6 years and this was the first time I’ve been there! We were seated by the huge wood burning oven they cook everything in:

That thing sitting on the edge of the oven (bottom left)? Giant s’more. And yep, it was just as good as it sounds.

Leave a Reply

