Opening night dress and SSS days 3 and 4

Hey, I finished something!

It’s Vogue 8511, last seen on my cutting table. I managed to get it done in time to wear it for opening night of my show last night, and as such am counting it as day 3 of Self-Stitched-September.

The show is set in 1963, so I wanted a dress for opening that had a kind of 60s silhouette.  I would never have even noticed this pattern if I hadn’t seen Jorth‘s lovely versions. Thanks Jorth! I decided it would be a good use for this orange dotty poplin I picked up at Satin Moon Fabrics in San Francisco in May. The dress went together really fast and easily, actually, and it was a big hit at work yesterday! Apparently I need to make more sheath dresses, because everyone said it really suited me.

Also, BELTS! I have never been a belt person.  Ever. I’ve owned maybe 3 belts in my life, and worn them only under pants-falling-down duress. But I’ve been seeing them all over for the last couple years, and I figured it was time to take the plunge.  This dress was just crying out for a belt (I think a self belt would be cute too, but I didn’t have time to find a belt kit… although, you know how hard it is to find a white belt in September? I had to resort to Macy’s). And look, I’m pretending I have a waist! I think it really makes the dress.  I may be a belted-dress convert. Still no desire to wear them with pants, though.

My full pattern review is here.

Moving on to SSS day 4 (aka today):

The dress is Simplicity 2443, pattern review here. I wanted to try a jumping picture, partly because I love the way the double-knit fabric bounces, and partly because I’m celebrating only having a matinée performance today, which means I got to be home this evening!

I made one of my favorite salads for dinner, the Five Spice Chicken Noodle Salad that was in Sunset last summer sometime.  If there’s an herb I love as much as mint (and I really love mint), it’s cilantro – and this recipe has both, and uses them as the salad greens! Wonderful. Unfortunately I ran out of gas halfway through grilling the chicken, and I had to finish it on the stove. Oh well, it was still good!

7 comments
  1. Super cute dress and the belt is great. I used to wear belts when I was thin, and am now getting back into wearing them even though I probably shouldn’t! Well done – I know working and sewing can be a challenge. As to the recipe, cilantro, or coriander for us Aussies, is my favorite – looks yummy!

  2. Beautiful. The belt rely is a great look for you with this dress too. Glad you were able to find the right one.

  3. Valery said:

    WE LOVE YOUR VERSION OF OUR V8511…YOU DID A FABULOUS JOB. MAY WE POST YOUR PHOTO ON OUR FACEBOOK PAGE WITH A LINK TO YOUR BLOG.

    PLEASE EMAIL ME AT VALERYP@MCCALLPATTERN.COM.

    THANKS.

  4. Wow! I love 8511. That’s really lovely! Am tempted to buy that pattern now!

Leave a Reply

